so, why am I serving a mission?

I think one of the most important things you can do for yourself in preparing to serve a mission is to understand WHY you are choosing to serve a mission.

Once, I was asked that question in an interview with my Stake President.

Thankfully, I was very sure of why I was choosing to serve when he asked.

So why am I serving?

Because I love my Heavenly Father and I love my Savior, Jesus Christ, more than ANYTHING. Anything. More than my full-ride scholarship, more than my cousins, more than my best friends, more than my siblings, more than my parents.

Sometimes the Lord comes and asks you, “Are you willing to give up the things you love most to show you love Me more?”

It is not a prideful request. It is not a haughty or narcissistic or dictatorial demand.

It is a sincere plea from my very Creator, asking gently if I would accept His love and His grace.

How could I not love Him most, when all I have in life that is good, lovely, wonderful, beautiful—comes from Him? He has given me everything. I can never repay Him. But I can love Him and serve Him with all that I have and all that I am. That is the best I can do.

The great part is, is that is all that He asks.

I can’t wait to be a missionary. I am so grateful for this opportunity!

Leave a Comment

