Our Adventures with St. Paul

Deeearest family of mine!

This week was absolute chaos, and our KI’s this week are….ehhh….not good. it will probably be long, but read all of it–it’s probably more interesting than you think 😉 hehe.
Monday was business as usual–pday, grocery shopping and emailing and all that great stuff. That night we had a super fun lesson with Jamvee and Ramvee, (between Clara’s and Sam’s ages) on tithing. We brought treats to illustrate the principle and it was really fun. They are pretty much beautiful children and super kind. We love them so much!
Tuesday, we had district meeting, and Sister Pace (my bff from the MTC) wasn’t feeling too great. By the time we got to Mang Inasal for lunch she looked pretty miserable, had a fever, and had rashes. So we’re all like, ah, Chikungunia strikes again. So she goes home. That day, Sister Barril and I worked super hard. We had a plan, and backup plans. Between 10-12 people for like 5 or 6 hours worth of work. And, despite our best efforts and visiting all of those people and more–we taught 1 lesson.
Wednesday all the foreign missionaries had to travel to Ilagan for fingerprinting by the government. Apparently they wanted us all to go to Manila, but President didn’t want to fly like 100 missionaries to Manila to be fingerprinted, haha. So they came to ilagan and we did it there. Ilagan is about 2 hours from my area. Sis Barril is Filipina, so she went on splits with Sis Alecando, while the rest of us went to fingerprinting. Sister pace looked suuuper miserable. Sister T and Sister Wilkins took her back as soon as it was done and the rest of us ate lunch and then went home. As soon as I got back, Sister Wilkins needed me to go with her to a lesson, and Sister T stayed with Sister Pace.
That lesson was with Sis Wilkins’ investigator, Albert. He’s come to church a few times, and had seemed super golden for a while. But due to sickness and other things, Sis Wilkins hadn’t been able to teach him for 3 weeks, and he hadn’t come to church for a few weeks either. When we taught him, by the end he just said, “Sisters, I’m grateful for all you’ve taught me and believe it. But I don’t want to leave my old church.” So that…was pretty much that. We prayed, we said goodbye, he said, when are you coming back, she said, I don’t know. And during the prayer, and as we walked away from his house, I felt a real sorrow for Albert. I never knew you could feel so sad for someone you didn’t know. and Sister Wilkins was heartbroken, because she’s been teaching him for more than a month…it’s just sad.
That night Sister Pace stayed in Sis Wilkins’ and Sis T’s apt so that she wouldn’t have to travel back to her apt in Peñablanca. Sis Pace’s companion was still on splits in Peñablanca so she wasn’t there. But Sis Pace’s temperature was really high, 40 C or getting up to around 104, so they took her to St Paul’s hospital that night. The next morning, we got a text from the sister trainers, and they had been there all night, so we went as soon as we got up and switched them shifts. We stayed at the hospital with Sister Pace for 7 or 8 hours. At first she wasn’t in a private room, and there were five other patients. It wasn’t necessarily crowded, but not private, and not a super great room. Aaand hehe, man, I think I’d take American hospital food over Philippine hospital food any day. Rice never sounds good when you’re sick. And then they also gave her like..dried fish skins with her rice for breakfast. Sweet.
Later we went home and slept. My joints had started feeling bad and I started feeling slightly feverish. we taught a lesson for Sis T and Sis Wilkins who were back at the hospital to a family of theirs with a baptismal date. After, we went home and I had a fever. Tthen the next day my fever was higher, and I stayed in bed until 12. I was taking paracetamol though and around noon I felt really good, and I felt like we needed to go teach our investigators who will be baptized this week. So we went there, taught, and as soon as we were done, I started feeling bad again, so we went home and rested all the rest of that day. The next day I was slow getting up again but didn’t feel quite as bad.
Sister and Pres Rahlf ended up taking Sis Pace to Cauayan. She’s doing good now, though, so no worries 🙂
Conference was after that. Aaahhh best thing ever. I absolutely loved watching conference. Not very many people come to watch, except for Sunday morning. but I got to see all the sessions and it was the greatest. I learned so much.
One message I got was that yes, the Lord is hastening His work by increasing the number of full-time missionaries, but the real hastening will happen through the members. If we all start really working together, that is when the work will move forward. Elder M Russell Ballard mentioned something about how if all 15 million members introduced the gospel to someone by Christmas how big of an effect that would have. He said it as a seeming suggestion, but I think it’s more of a challenge for all of you at home. And it would be suuuper helpful for the missionaries 🙂 so take him up on that challenge and see what miracles can come of it.
One more thing about how the Lord answers prayers. We haven’t been able to work much this week, but before we went to the Sunday session I prayed that at least one of our investigators’ hearts would be softened enough to feel the prompting to come to conference. We had been working on inviting them for several weeks now, so I know we had done all we could do even though we couldn’t teach much this week. During conference, I happened to check our phone during the song right before Pres Monson spoke–and right then, our investigator Tina was calling! She was on her way. She got there right as the prophet began speaking. and then another surprise–we had a text from Jovic, and he was also on his way! Both of them were able to hear the words of the living prophet of God for the first time in their lives. I am really excited to follow up with them on their experience. But I know God heard my prayer and answered it, and that they were listening. 🙂
I love you so much! I hope you have a super great week. This week will be my last full week with Sis Barril–transfers are next week already.
Love you all!
Love,
Sister Carr
Ah, and I had tacos this week, courtesy of the bishop’s wife. Pretty much the best thing ever. Even without salsa, and that it was cabbage instead of lettuce…and okay, they are definitely Filipino tacos, but still great 🙂
Also, I rode in a  Jeepney for the first time this week. See picture with Sis Brown, hehe.
Amber with Sister Brown in Jeepney

Amber with Sister Brown in Jeepney

Another pic of the beautiful sisters we traveled with -- they are from Tonga, Samoa, and Kiribati.

Another pic of the beautiful sisters we traveled with — they are from Tonga, Samoa, and Kiribati.

Nasty Hospital Food

Nasty Hospital Food

Super good Merienda (snack) from our neighbor. Sugar coated and grilled banana and sweet potato.

Super good Merienda (snack) from our neighbor. Sugar coated and grilled banana and sweet potato.

Leave a Comment

