Mainiiiiiittttt!!

Hello all! I can’t believe this week we are breaking into May!

It is so HOT. HOT. it is so hot right now. I didn’t know it was possible to sweat so much doing so little. as in, doing nothing, you can be drenched in sweat. man. sometimes it can be kinda hard to want to go outside and walk around (not because our house is cool at all…it’s hot, too) but the sun is just powerful. we always use umbrellas walking around because it’s just too hot not to. it’s kind of an energy sucker. wheww. also, the heat brought out the ants (langgum) and they are everywhere, no matter how clean we keep our house.
This week Sis Bien got sick after we worked almost all day Wednesday, so we didn’t do a whole lot on Thursday. But we did a lot this week and I feel good about it. It was harder this week because all the youth and SA’s were off on some youth conference thing and so half the people we usually teach weren’t available and nearly all of our fellow shippers were gone. but it still worked out all right.
We went to the Lleva’s on Friday for my birthday! they made pizza and mango graham cake. let me just tell you–graham cake (they say it gray-ham here.) is already the best, but mango graham cake is theee most delightful treat in the world. we also had ice cream (I just stuck with the chocolate and carefully avoided the keso (cheese..) flavored…can’t do that one too well, haha) and it was really fun. we also had dinner at the Bishop’s last night because his little girl, baby Kim, turned 3 on the 25th as well!
Well, I want to share with you something I learned this week. I have been reading a lot in the Old Testament in my free time (mostly when Sis Bien wasn’t feeling well) and I read a lot about Moses and the Israelites. I noticed that when God first calls Moses to be a prophet, he is really scared. He seemed like he was just a regular person, full of fears, weaknesses, and doubts. And there were times where his faith just wasn’t big enough to accept the Lord’s help–like when he was afraid of speaking because he was ‘slow of speech.” the Lord promised Moses He would help him–but Moses plead for another way, and the Lord gave him Aaron to be his spokesman. Moses missed out on that growing opportunity because he was too afraid. but I realized as well that we do that all the time, and eventually, little by little, Moses’ faith grew, until he became one of the greatest prophets that ever lived. He took those little steps of faith, failed along the way, but the Lord was always patient with him and continued to help him along. I know that the Lord has the same patience with us, and wants to raise us to become just as great in our own potential. and if we place our trust in Him and take those small steps, we can 🙂
I know the gospel is true, and we are here to become like our Heavenly Father. it’s never easy, but it is always, always worth it.
love,
Sister Carr
IMG_0144

We had too much fun the other night.

We had too much fun the other night.

Our kitchen sink and our CR (bathroom). that black bucket in the CR is our shower. lucky us, though, our toilet actually flushes!

Our kitchen sink and our CR (bathroom). that black bucket in the CR is our shower. lucky us, though, our toilet actually flushes!

IMG_0134

Picture of me with baby Kim!

Picture of me with baby Kim!

Me and Sis Bien :)

Me and Sis Bien 🙂

Our bedroom and our kitchen. our walls are way thin, so we can hear everyone else's conversations 24/7. not that I always understand them...but they also have a tindahan, a little store, next door, and there are always people going 'pabili!" when they want to buy something from them.

Our bedroom and our kitchen. our walls are way thin, so we can hear everyone else’s conversations 24/7. not that I always understand them…but they also have a tindahan, a little store, next door, and there are always people going ‘pabili!” when they want to buy something from them.

IMG_0131

Cute birthday card I got from Sis Bien, your wrapped gift, and the gift from Sister Osteniane :) I also got a cute card from Sis Vaelua. They are all awesome. :)

Cute birthday card I got from Sis Bien, your wrapped gift, and the gift from Sister Osteniane 🙂 I also got a cute card from Sis Vaelua. They are all awesome. 🙂

Me with my cute birthday cake! (sorry, I forgot to bring those candles you sent me.)

Me with my cute birthday cake! (sorry, I forgot to bring those candles you sent me.)

One picture of my mango graham cake...(also the watermelon here is orange, not pink)

One picture of my mango graham cake…(also the watermelon here is orange, not pink)

A Carabao pulling a man in his canoe across the river.

A Carabao pulling a man in his canoe across the river.

The basketball court in front of the church, where the young men do a lot of finding new investigators..

The basketball court in front of the church, where the young men do a lot of finding new investigators..

Jeepney! Now you can see what I'm talking about!

Jeepney! Now you can see what I’m talking about!

Leave a Comment

