Mother’s Day!

 

Hello!

It was such a great experience to Skype you this morning!!!! ūüôā
So yes….it is crazy here right now, there is a lot going on. There is ‘piesta’ (fiesta) here soon in a few weeks, so they blocked off one side of the road for the vendors and we have to walk through their tents every day now, haha. The rainy season is coming and we have been soaked through a couple of times this week. The lightning here is insane. President Rahlf had us split with Sis Vaelua and Sis Osteniane this past week, and as Sis Vaelua and I went to try to go to an appointment in the storm, the lightning got really scary, but these random people let us into their house while we waited for the storm to calm down a little. As we waited, we talked to the older lady in there, Cuncita. We tried every possible way to share the gospel with her, and she shut it down every time. It was kind of sad when we left because she had this perfect opportunity to learn about Christ and she just….didn’t want it. It’s really sad to see that every day, but that makes it even better when someone understands and accepts it.
Yesterday we got soaked through again as there was a huge storm that came through. We had a member with us, Sister Dona, and she is a returned missionary. we Went to our appointment at the Buscayno family’s home. two of the sons are already members. the other two siblings are investigating, and the mom was kind of just sitting in, but we have been trying to teach her, too. We arrived at their home soaking wet, and there was no power and it was getting dark. We sat in their little kitchen and taught the mom, Marites, and the two kids, James and Kathlyn. We taught them a lesson on the purpose of our life on earth and the Atonement. The lesson went really well, and then Sis Dona was sharing her experience. The Spirit became very strong as we testified of the Savior and His Atonement, and the power He has to help strengthen us and lift our burdens, especially as she is a single mom. We testified of how she needs that companionship of the Savior to continue to be strong. It was so peaceful and the rain had calmed down, and the Spirit in that flashligh-lit room in that moment was amazing. We asked if she would be willing to follow the example of the Savior and be baptized, and she accepted. We are so excited for her and we know that as their whole family will now be members, they will be so blessed.
We finished our Book of Mormon power read this week! I read the whole Book of Mormon in 60 days. my testimony has been so strengthened because of it. I have learned so many things about how important Jesus Christ is in my life and gained an even greater desire to make Him the center of all I do for the rest of my life. I have become more aware of His miracles in my life, of how He helps me, and of His characteristics and what I can do to improve. I have noticed that with the Hastening, there has been a huge push in the Church to focus everything on Him. I know that that’s because one day, He will come again…and all we are doing now should focus us on that day when we will meet Him and stand before Him. I was really touched today as I read again the account in 3 Nephi as I resumed my Book of Mormon reading from before, to read about how He introduced Himself to the people as Jesus Christ:

Behold, I am Jesus Christ, whom the prophets testified shall comeinto the world.

 11 And behold, I am the light and the life of the world; and I have drunkout of that bitter cup which the Father hath given me, and haveglorified the Father in taking upon me the sins of the world,in the which I have suffered the will of the Father in all things from thebeginning.
¬†and how He came down and they all went one by one to touch His hands and His feet, and bore record that it was Him who had been prophesied of…And¬†it¬†came¬†to¬†pass¬†that¬†the¬†Lord¬†spake¬†unto¬†them¬†saying:

 14 Arise and come forth unto me, that ye may thrust your hands into my side, and also that ye may feel the prints of the nails in my handsand in my feet, that ye may know that I am the God of Israel, and the God of the whole earth, and have been slain for the sinsof the world.

 15 And it came to pass that the multitude went forth, and thrust theirhands into his side, and did feel the prints of the nails in his handsand in his feet; and this they did do, going forth one by one untilthey had all gone forth, and did see with their eyes and did feelwith their hands, and did know of a surety and did bear record, that it was he, of whom it was written by the prophets,that should come.

 16 And when they had all gone forth and had witnessed for themselves, they did cry out with one accord, saying:

 17 Hosanna! Blessed be the name of the Most High God! And they didfall down at the feet of Jesus, and did worship him.

I just thought of the joy they must have felt as their faith became a sure knowledge. I know one day we will all have that opportunity and feel of that joy to know with surety that He lives, as we one by one touch His hands and His feet and know with a surety that He is our Savior, the One who was prophesied of and spoken of by the prophets, that He is the Son of God. As we truly come unto Christ and make Him the center of our lives, I know that we will find true joy, true happiness, true strength, true peace, and true life.

O all ye that are spared because ye were more righteous than they, will ye not now return unto me, and repent of your sins, and beconverted, that I may heal you?

 14 Yea, verily I say unto you, if ye will come unto me ye shall haveeternal life. Behold, mine arm of mercy is extended towards you, and whosoever will come, him will I receive; and blessed are thosewho come unto me.

 15 Behold, I am Jesus Christ the Son of God. I created the heavensand the earth, and all things that in them are. I was with theFather from the beginning. I am in the Father, and the Father inme; and in me hath the Father glorified his name.

love always,
Sister Carr
Mother's Day :)

Mother’s Day ūüôā

Us with a few of the single adults in the ward

Us with a few of the single adults in the ward

Leave a Comment

