napakadaringungu (nosebleed…aka I don’t understand ilokano)

Hello! So much has happened this week!

I was transferred to Bambang! It’s in Nueva Vizcaya, the other side of the mission…the furthest away you can get from the mission home, haha. I am serving in the Almaguer branch! Kind of a bummer–Sister Maddock just left here  (my MTC comp) and so we missed each other again. I haven’t seen her since December. But this is an awesome branch, and I’m stoked to be here.
Bambang is so beautiful! there are mountains and tons of rice fields. It’s so GREEN. The pictures will never do it justice.
Well, the best news ever is that we have AIR CONDITIONING in our bedroom. The rest of our apartment isn’t really that great…but we have aircon and that is amazing. I can sleep at night 🙂 🙂
My new companion is Sis Sumagpao! We are batch going home. She is awesome, and an amazing missionary. I knew her back in Tuguegarao. We are going to have a great time together here in Almaguer!
The other day we went to this compound to teach some less actives. While we were talking to some people, this kid threw a ball and it landed on their tin roof that hangs over their porch. I moved to avoid getting hit by the ball, but was surprised when suddenly the roof was hitting me in the arm. ha. I was lucky it didn’t get me in the face, but I got a cut on my arm. We took care of it with alcohol and a band-aid..it was just really weird to be hit by somebody’s roof.
This area is mostly ilokano…we have an investigator who only speaks ilokano, so we have to have a translator. It’s weird to have lessons where I’m reading from English scriptures, speaking Tagalog, and hearing ilokano in response. It’s kinda like being a brand new missionary again where I don’t know anything and don’t understand a thing. I only know a few ilokano words..but me and Sis Sumagpao are learning 🙂 hopefully this will be my last area, so maybe after 6 months here I will be able to communicate in ilokano as well 🙂
This week I”ve been trying to study extra hard about Jesus Christ and coming to know Him better. I am also working on continuing to become more consecrated. I know that sometimes there are voices in the world who try to destroy our faith. But I know that as we exercise our faith and hang on, and especially as we repent, we can and will experience the power of God in our lives–a power that is undeniable. Repentance binds us to the Lord, because it is the biggest opportunity for us to feel His love and His matchless Atoning power and grace.
“Yea, come unto Christ, and be perfected in Him, and deny yourselves of all ungodliness; and if ye shall deny yourselves of all ungodliness, and love God with all your might, mind and strength, then is his grace sufficient for you, that by his grace ye may be perfect in Christ; and if by the grace of God ye are perfect in Christ, ye can in nowise deny the power of God.”
His power is real and undeniable–and it is there for every one of us to experience.
I love you!
Sister Carr
Leave a Comment

