imugan falls :)

kamusta na kayo? medyo nabasa na kami, pero masaya naman!

so we had another great week here in almaguer, and the better news is that I will have at least 6 more weeks here! I am not being transferred so I get to stay here in beautiful nueva viscaya. perfect, because family week is next saturday and it will be a blast down here in the Bambang District.
This week we had a service project in our area, planting Cauayan (which actually means ‘bamboo’) on the side of a river as flood prevention. We were really muddy when we were done, but it was a great project. I think it is a government-funded project, but we were happy to help out the barangays in our area.
best news of the week: brother Nicacio passed his interview and will be baptized on saturday!!! 😀 he has made a lot of changes in his life and his heart is so sincere. even though he is older and can’t remember every bit of the information we taught him, he still met the qualifications for baptism and is so excited to be baptized. Saturday will be such a wonderful day for him, and we love him and are so excited for him!
we are on later today because we had a district activity earlier and visited the Imugan Falls in Aritao. It was a blast and it was so beautiful. I wasn’t able to take pictures, but Sis. Hamblin took a bunch so I will forward them next week when she sends them to me.
If you’re interested in hearing my latest massive english fail, I said this in a conversation last night while we were eating dinner–“yeah, we are all doctorate degrees, and we have every knowledge in the world.” I am going to have to fix this before I come home…
also during sunday school, the Gospel Principles class, we were talking about ‘covenant people” and lineage. Brother RJ was teaching and went from abraham to isaac, to esau and jacob…but if you say esau’s name the ‘tagalog’ way, it’s “isaw” so we were all laughing because isaw is the grilled chicken intestines snack that everyone loves here (including me). language crossover gets better every day.
I’ve really been focusing my study on Christ the past few weeks and I am learning so much. I especially loved my study of the talk on Christ’s Resurrection by Elder Christofferson from last general conference. He truly is risen, and He died and He lived for each and every one of us. I was particularly touched by the story in 3 Nephi  11, where Christ descends from heaven to visit the Nephites. He said, Behold, I am Jesus Christ, whom the prophets testified shall come into the world.

 11 And behold, I am the light and the life of the world; and I have drunk out of that bitter cup which the Father hath given me, and have glorified the Father in taking upon me the sins of the world, in the which I have suffered the will of the Father in all things from the beginning.

at which point He invited them all to come and feel for themselves–to see and know for themselves, that He was real.

Arise and come forth unto me, that ye may thrust your hands into my side, and also that ye may feel the prints of the nails in my hands and in my feet, that ye may know that I am the God of Israel, and the God of the whole earth, and have been slain for the sins of the world.

 15 And it came to pass that the multitude went forth, and thrust their hands into his side, and did feel the prints of the nails in his hands and in his feet; and this they did do, going forth one by one until they had all gone forth, and did see with their eyes and did feel with their hands, and did know of a surety and did bear record, that it was he, of whom it was written by the prophets, that should come.

and they did. 

But the most amazing part of this story is that their experience will one day be our experience, and I know one day, each of us will be invited to come, and see, and feel, and know which every surety, that He is Christ who lived, who died, and who lived again. Truly now we walk by faith–but the day will come when we all know. I pray that will be a joyful meeting for us all. I know He lives and He is our Savior.

I love you all!

Sister Carr

Almaguer! pics after church last sunday.

Almaguer! pics after church last sunday.

almaguer branch--pics after coordination meeting. :)

almaguer branch–pics after coordination meeting. 🙂

IMG_0598

so excited to be comps with itong magandang babae sa isa pang cycle :) one more cycle!!

so excited to be comps with itong magandang babae sa isa pang cycle 🙂 one more cycle!!

the beautiful sisters of Bambang District!!!

the beautiful sisters of Bambang District!!!

Almaguer Branch :)

Almaguer Branch 🙂

tricies to Mebuslo

tricies to Mebuslo

Sister Pace and I on splits :)

Sister Pace and I on splits 🙂

 

this is one of our favorite members...Tatay Tapec!

this is one of our favorite members…Tatay Tapec!

Sis Lasay and I as we waited for the dentist in Echague

Sis Lasay and I as we waited for the dentist in Echague

us with Tatay Tapec and his brother, Nicacio :) the newly baptized!

us with Tatay Tapec and his brother, Nicacio 🙂 the newly baptized!

the divine companionship hiking in Imugan! :D

the divine companionship hiking in Imugan! 😀

divine companionship ;)

divine companionship 😉

Leave a Comment

