Kapaskuhan Na! (it’s Christmas season…happy September 1!)

hello!

This past week was great! There were many challenges, but also many miracles. Pretty sure every week in the mission is that way. I am grateful for both the challenges and the miracles. I know we need both to really build our relationship with the Lord.
Well, one thing we did this past week was we went to Dupax for a service project in the Elders’ area. We hiked up into this old bukid (rice field) and had to clear a place to plant a bunch of trees. We had to clear it of razor grass, using typical filipino gardening tools–shovels and machetes. It was fun and we had a good time, although razor grass is actually really sharp and I have plenty of cuts on my arms and legs…but it was good and it is great to do service! We have a lot of other opportunities coming up and I am really excited about it. 🙂
We found a couple new investigators last week! When I was on splits with Sis Manosig, we talked to a woman on her porch, and it turns out her husband is from Singapore and speaks English and doesn’t understand Tagalog. So after a few minutes where I was talking to her in Tagalog and she was translating to him in English, I realized I should probably just speak English…but it’s really good. they are awesome people. They are Born Again Christians and have such strong faith in Jesus Christ. They work really hard to help others come unto Christ and gain faith in Him, but they don’t believe there is any one true religion. We were able to go back to them another day, and brother shared some of his new songs (He writes a lot of Christian music) and we learned more about their beliefs. It was cool to hear how they gained their faith. They are true converts to Jesus Christ. We shared with them about the Book of Mormon and testified of how it can bring us to Christ and invited them to read it. we shared part of 2 Nephi 33 with them and the Spirit was definitely guiding the lesson. We also shared Moroni’s promise that if they would study and pray, they would learn of the truthfulness for themselves. We will go back with them today and see if they’ve read. (by the way, we taught in English…it was super weird, but really nice as well, haha)
I love the Book of Mormon! I love reading it and getting answers and learning more about Christ. I know any of our struggles, or any of our doubts and questions can be answered by reading and praying about this sacred book of scripture. I know it was written for our day and was preserved by the hand of the Lord to bless all of our lives today. I have felt the Spirit so strongly as I have read it the past few days. I have felt the light of the Lord’s love more fully because of the Book of Mormon.
Our splits were hard because we got punted all day long, so we tried to OYM (talk to..) every person that we saw in Purok 6. We had some funny experiences while tracting, but it was good, and I love Sis Manosig!
I wish I could tell you every miracle I saw this week. they are countless. they range from money situations to huge answers to prayers. I know the Lord is there and He is leading this mission. Jesus Christ is at our head and He is guiding us and directing us each day. He is my strength and my song, and I am happy to be in His service and to continue to teach and learn of Him each and every day.
sometimes when we are discouraged, we just need to remember His words from D&C 78– “Verily, verily, I say unto you, ye are little children, and ye have not as yet understood how great blessings the Father hath in his own hands and prepared for you; And ye cannot bear all things now; nevertheless, be of good cheer, for I will lead you along. The kingdom is yours and the blessings thereof are yours, and the riches of eternity are yours.”
He is leading us! We are never alone.
I love you!
Sister Carr
picture on the bridge in Dupax Del Sur

picture on the bridge in Dupax Del Sur

-Dupax District at our service project in Dupax Del Sur!

-Dupax District at our service project in Dupax Del Sur!

Leave a Comment

