tunay na pag-asa :)

Hey!

This week was one of the fastest, and I can hardly remember what we did. It was pretty much a normal week, so I hope I can remember something to tell you about.
Well, one thing is that we have started teaching the Ativo family. I LOVE teaching them. There are 8 kids all under 11 years old. We taught them 3 times this week. We even met their dad finally, so maybe he will start joining the lessons! He is just really shy daw (um…his wife said), so he hasn’t joined the lessons, but he has listened in and read everything we’ve left. I love teaching them because there just aren’t a lot of houses with lots of little kids, but this one feels  a lot more like home. The kids all got really excited about prophets because they watch a bible TV show and know a lot of the story. it was so cute to see all these little kids shouting out and explaining the stories of Moses, job, Daniel, David and Goliath…made me a little homesick, but it’s definitely becoming one of the most joyful experiences of my mission.
I will just say again that I love my companion. Sister Lasay is wonderful. We have so much fun and she is a great support when things get hard.
English fail of the week that I didn’t even realize until another American pointed it out to me–we were doing service again in Dupax del Sur, planting guayabano trees, and Elder Hall said, “Hey, do you have trees up there?” and I said, “We have.” and Sister Brown pointed out that we don’t say that in English…we just say ‘yes.” But in Tagalog we say, ‘mayroon,’ or ‘we have.’ now I’ve been catching myself do it a lot, haha.
Well, this week I studied about Hope. I studied the talk, “The Infinite Power of Hope” by Pres Uchtdorf. I have been studying each Christlike attribute for 2 weeks for these last 18 weeks of the mission. it’s been really great. I have learned such powerful new lessons about each one as I have tried to study and apply it more fully to my life.
“Hope is a gift of the Spirit. 4 It is a hope that through the Atonement of Jesus Christ and the power of His Resurrection, we shall be raised unto life eternal and this because of our faith in the Savior. 5 This kind of hope is both a principle of promise as well as a commandment, 6 and, as with all commandments, we have the responsibility to make it an active part of our lives and overcome the temptation to lose hope. Hope in our Heavenly Father’s merciful plan of happiness leads to peace, 7 mercy, 8 rejoicing, 9and gladness. 10 The hope of salvation is like a protective helmet; 11 it is the foundation of our faith 12 and an anchor to our souls.”
I love what he said that we have to overcome the temptation to lose hope. I think most of the time we don’t even realize that is a temptation. But we need to continue to choose hope , because Christ is the Hope of Israel–which means as long as we know who we are, why we are here, and where we are going in the eternal plan of our Heavenly Father, coupled with an understanding of the Atonement of Jesus Christ–we can always find a burning, radiant hope to press forward, no matter the circumstances. And I know as we seek Him, trust Him, and find hope, it really does become the ‘anchor to our souls’ (ether 12:4) and we are strong.
I experienced that this week and I know the hope of His light is available to all who will exercise faith in Him and look to Him.
I love you!
Sister Carr
Leave a Comment

