He is the Gift!

minamahal kong pamilya….:) my beloved family!

well, this is it! I only have one week left, but I know there is so much that will happen this week. We will be really busy and I am so excited to just work and work. We will be using every minute the best we can. So many miracles have been happening here. I know the Lord is guiding this work.
Being a missionary at Christmastime is the BEST. No better way to feel the real Spirit of Christmas than to testify of Him to all I talk to. Pleaseeee watch the video at the bottom of this email! it is so wonderful and this is the message we are sharing with everyone right now (and what all the missionaries are doing all over the world right now).
as an update on Lovely, she is doing great and making progress. She has been reading the Book of Mormon and seriously thinking and praying about our message. She has not received it yet, but we know she is starting to feel it. We had an amazing lesson yesterday and Sis Romano really discerned her thoughts, which had a powerful impact on the lesson. We are doing all we can to help her and encourage her to find out for herself, and she is well on her way to doing so. It is such an amazing thing to see.
We shared with her about why we celebrate Christmas, since she was asking if we do, since other religions don’t. We read 3 Nephi 11 together and testified of Christ’s birth, and more so about His Atonement and the way He provided us to return home to our Father’s presence. When we taught her the Restoration lesson the other day, I don’t know if she felt the Spirit as much as I did as we taught about the First Vision, but I know that it is true and I know that Joseph Smith is a prophet of God.
We went to the Career Workshop on Wednesday and took some time thinking about the future….it’s confusing. ha. but it’ll work out. We were the first group to get to use the new 12-week (which we smashed into 7 hours) Self Reliance program by the church. it is awesome and I learned so much. I look forward to studying that book more when I go home and becoming more self-reliant.
Besides that, I really felt the Lord’s help as we tracted and we tried to talk to as many people as possible. Sometimes it is hard but the Lord enables us to do more than we think. He really makes miracles out of us and does so much infinitely more with our little efforts.
I studied about the baptismal covenant this morning. I studied a talk on the sacrament from one of the sisters who spoke last conference. She described the baptismal covenant this way:
Take Upon us the Name of Christ– “That means we must see ourselves as His. We will put Him first in our lives. We will want what He wants rather than what we want or what the world teaches us to want.” (Pres Eyring) Is this something we are trying to do? is this an active pursuit in our lives?
Always Remember Him–“That means we will constantly look to the Savior’s example and teachings to guide our thoughts, our choices, and our acts.” Do we remember Him in this way?
Keep His Commandments–‘ Obedience to the commandments brings the power of the gospel into our lives and greater peace and spirituality.”
I reflected during sacrament meeting yesterday on the impact the sacrament has had on my life in the past 18 months. yesterday was the last time I had the sacrament as a missionary, since we have a conference this week. The Spirit testified to me so powerfully that because of the sacrament, I had become the person I now am; because of the sacrament I was able to continue those weeks I thought I couldn’t; because of the sacrament I was able to become a successful missionary. I know of the power of the sacrament, because it gives us access to the full measure of the Atoning sacrifice of Jesus Christ. This is the power of our baptismal covenants–that we can receive healing, strength, peace, forgiveness; that we can start over; that we can look forward with faith and hope in the future. It is all about the Atonement. I hope the sacrament continues to become a more cherished and sacred thing in each of our lives, because this is really what enables us to grow and progress in life.
I am so grateful for all Jesus Christ has done for me. I know He is the Son of God and that He is our Savior. I know He is the Gift! He is the Light and Life of the World. What a privilege to serve Him. How blessed we are.
I love you all! mahal ko kayo lahat.
Sister Carr
#ShareTheGift
IMG_0035

My area...Anao and Quiling. I really love rice fields and how everything reflects off of them. :)

My area…Anao and Quiling. I really love rice fields and how everything reflects off of them. 🙂

me, Sister Lasay, and Tatay Nicacio :) :) :)

me, Sister Lasay, and Tatay Nicacio 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Comment

