mga pinasasalamatan ko :) (things I am grateful for)

Hello!

This week was crazy and so full of miracles! The Lord is blessing us abundantly.
We had 7 investigators at church and 3 less actives! I think that is a record 🙂 we have been working really hard to get people to church and focusing on that commitment in lessons, and I know the Spirit has been helping us to be bold in helping them understand the importance of commitments and church attendance. there’s nothing quite like the feeling of seeing investigators come to church 🙂 it means they are on their way to greater blessings.
so something funny from relief society yesterday (it might not be funny to you..but it’s taglish so..we’ll try) –the lesson was on ‘Where Your Treasure Is” and the sister teaching was talking about how we need to not let worldly things interfere with our more important spiritual pursuits. She said, “masarap ang buhay sa mundo… eat, drink, and be merry, for tomorrow, patay ka!” haha. (Life is so good on earth…eat, drink, and be merry, for tomorrow, you’ll be dead!) (not quite the same as just saying ‘we die’) hahaha.
We had splits with our sister training leaders on wednesday in Gamu. It was weird to be back in Gamu (that’s where I had splits in my second area) and that Sis Brown is my STL now instead of the other way around, but she is doing so great and I enjoyed our split.
We worked really hard the rest of the week. We decided to knock on a door in Anao as we were heading to Quiling. we spoke with a man who is of a less well-known religion, but he began talking to us about how he believes in the King James version of the Bible, and about William Tyndale and the Reformation. We were excited, and we started discussing the Reformation with him and affirming that we believe it is really important. He was a little surprised that we agreed with him that we believe it’s not just ‘baptized, you’re saved’ and that we believe in enduring to the end. He said, “even if you serve God from 10 years old to 80 and then stop before you die, it’s not enough. so many people just retire from serving God because they don’t understand it.” it was a great conversation. We had the chance to testify to him that we believe int he reformation, but we also believe in the Restoration of complete and whole truth. He said, “Restoration?” and we testified that it is like the completing factor of everything he just told us. Hopefully he will read and pray about the pamphlet we gave him. He is a really good man.
we also got to teach a whole family! that has hardly ever happened to me on my mission, but we asked them about their vision and goals as a family and they both really want a stable, happy family. they both come from broken families and really want to avoid that. we got to testify to them that this message will enable them to create the home they have envisioned, and even more than that.
I know the gospel of Jesus Christ blesses lives! it is so simple and so beautiful. We just need to do our part, and the blessings flood in.
I studied gratitude this morning. (happy thanksgiving, pala) I have really been striving to understand the power of an ‘attitude of gratitude’ and it really is powerful. it is the gateway to feeling God’s love and grace more completely in our lives. Even during the darkest of times, we can still feel His love and have confidence that He has a perfect plan. When we feel most anxious, discouraged, or without hope, perhaps instead of telling Him all that is in our hearts (though that is a very good thing) offering up a prayer of only gratitude. IN doing so, our fears, worries, concerns, anxieties and sorrows fall away and are replaced with peace, hope, and light. I know this because I have felt it and tried it. You learn there is so much to be grateful for, for things that are unchanging principles of truth, that we can cling to in any circumstances.
I love you all and I love this work. it is hard, and taxing, but feeling the strength of the Lord at the end of each day knowing I have done my best is one of the most satisfying feelings. I know this is His work.
I am grateful for all of you and for the chance I have to be here. I am grateful for Jesus Christ and His Atonement. I am grateful for the chance to begin again each day, and have a clean slate each week when I partake of the sacrament. I am grateful for the light of the gospel and for the perfect plan of my Father in Heaven.
love always,
Sister Carr
DSC05227
Leave a Comment

